Industrial Property Office

Nominations for the European Inventor Award 2015 open

The European Patent Office (EPO) is now calling for submissions of nominations for the European Inventor Award 2015. The award pays tribute to exceptional inventors who make a real contribution to social and technological progress and economic growth in Europe. The winners of the European Inventor Award 2014 were:

  • in the category "Lifetime achievement", Artur Fischer (DE), invention: wall plug, synchronised flash and many more
  • in the category "Industry", Koen Andries / Jérôme Guillemont (BE/FR), invention: drug against multidrug-resistant tuberculosis
  • in the category "Small and medium-sized enterprizes (SMEs)", Peter Holme Jensen (DK), invention: energy-efficient water purification
  • in the category "Research", Christofer Toumazou (GB), invention: microchip for quick DNA testing
  • in the category "Non-European countries", Chuck Hull (USA), invention: 3D printing (stereolithography)

The public are invited to submit a nomination to the European Patent Office for their favourite for the coveted award. The award is therefore now open for entries from any member of the public with an interest in nominating an inventor or invention of their choice.

Inventors entered for the award must have been granted at least one valid European patent for their invention by the European Patent Office. Candidates can be entered for the following five categories: "Lifetime achievement", "Industry", "Small and medium-sized enterprizes (SMEs)", "Research" and "Non-European countries". 

The deadline for nominations for European Inventor Award 2015 is 10 October 2014.

You will find the link to the entry form here.